Shop Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Weather Station Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums


The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!


  •  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"


Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.


YES! I want to register an account for free right now!


Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

opinions on staking spikes

This is a discussion on opinions on staking spikes within the General Orchid Culture forums, part of the Orchid Culture category; I'm curious about staking habits; do you support all your spikes or let them do ...

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
  1. #1
    peteMc's Avatar
    peteMc is offline innocent bystander
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    328

    Default opinions on staking spikes

    I'm curious about staking habits; do you support all your spikes or let them do as they will? Are there genera for which it is necessary for the survival of the spike? anybody got a rule of thumb?

    i've got spikes growing on a Brsda. and i'm liking the curve the oldest one is taking, but don't want to lose it to it's own weight - it looks to have approx 15 to 18 buds on a 1 1/2 ft spike, but it's not done growing out yet.

    any thoughts would be appreciated.

    p

  2. #2
    uncasteeb's Avatar
    uncasteeb is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,666

    Default

    I only use spikes when i really have to.
    I let the spikes form naturally & may use a support when it starts to bend to much under it,s own weight.
    Phal hybrids i stake as i tend to move them about(even to a different house) but never before the first buds have formed.
    Paph chamberlainianum has over a 24" spike now(on flower number 13) & the spike cannot support itself at all.
    I try to leave my Onc,s with no stakes but they can get heavy spikes which start to bend to much.
    I left my Oncidium Cleo,s Jungle unsupported even though the spike was about 36" & was fine until the flowers started to open & then the spike started to really bend under the weight so i had to spike.
    I mainly stake them so that it,s more difficult for me to accidentally snap them.

  3. #3
    orchidaddict789's Avatar
    orchidaddict789 is offline Senior Member
    My Grow Area
    Windowsill
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Phalaenopsis/Cattleya species
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (MD)
    Posts
    669
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    I like to stake all my orchids (phals, oncs, and some dends). I know sometimes spikes may look better when hanging in an arch, but I just get too nervous just in case it breaks. It's better to see a straight/staked spike than one that's snapped and broken. With phal spikes I tie the spike when it's around 3-5 inches and then secure it tighter and tighter, until it's as straight as the stake. (For some reason, staking spikes get me nervous. Now I have a 3.5" phal spike that's more interested in growing horizontally, and it seems almost impossible to get the spike to grow closer to the stake. Oh well...I'll see about that...)

  4. #4
    Tanya's Avatar
    Tanya is offline Senior Member
    Real Name
    Loventana Lo
    My Grow Area
    Outside 24/7.
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Too many to mention
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    984
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    I only stake spike when its necessary. I usually use plastic coated wire stakes (available at the florists shops) so that I can bend them and give the spike some "natural" arc, instead of just plain straight.

  5. #5
    Gilda is offline "Master of the Moth and Phrags "
    My Grow Area
    On a Windowsill.
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    phrags
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    944
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    I usually stake spikes..it might be after they have developed if they look fragile ,or to guide them in the direction I want them to go...gets frustrating though when you have to place them back on the grow racks, which have limited head room !

  6. #6
    peteMc's Avatar
    peteMc is offline innocent bystander
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    328

    Default

    thanks folks i'll watch how it goes...and post when it blooms.

    p

    [please, don't let this response keep more folks from posting....]

  7. #7
    Gin's Avatar
    Gin
    Gin is offline Senior Member
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    All types
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    4,831
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    I usually stake the extra long ones on some of the intergenitics , on the Phals. some I do and some not . I buy the little plastic hair clips for kids not the larger ones they use to fasten the spikes, and clip one over the top of the stake , beats a poke in the eye if reaching over them . Gin

  8. #8
    Piper's Avatar
    Piper is offline Hangs
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,068

    Default

    Hi Pete,

    For the Onc. intergenerics, where the spikes can get ridicoulously large, especiallly any with a brassia mix, where you'd like a horizontal spray, consider a wire stake. Think straightened coat hanger, if you don't have a source of thick bendable wire.

    This will allow you to get a slight vertical rise, falling off to a downward sweeping horizontal spray. Because the flowers are large and the spray is usually viewed at a distance, the stake disappears. Your display and photos will be stunning and only you'll know the secret!

    Julie

  9. #9
    peteMc's Avatar
    peteMc is offline innocent bystander
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    328

    Default

    that's a really appealing idea...can keep the curves and still support it. increases my chances of not snapping it off....thanks

    p

  10. #10
    LJA's Avatar
    LJA
    LJA is offline OrchidTalk Tech Admin
    Real Name
    Louis J. Aszod
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Cattleya
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Clarksville, Arkansas
    Posts
    3,778
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    I really like the curved wire idea. That would really let you offer support without the straight and rigid up and down look a spike gets otherwise.

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions appreciated
    By Onecofatman in forum Eye Candy
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 21st, 2008, 02:25 AM
  2. Staking Catts?
    By murgdan in forum General Orchid Culture
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 11th, 2007, 10:03 AM
  3. staking small orchids
    By Cinderella in forum Semi Hydro / Lights / Greenhouses / Accessories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 31st, 2005, 09:22 AM
  4. Staking Spikes Question
    By orchidaddict789 in forum General Orchid Culture
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 26th, 2004, 01:17 AM
  5. Opinions Please
    By Heather in forum Orchid Ailments / The Compost Pile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 30th, 2004, 06:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
OrchidTalk --An Orchid Growers Discussion Forum brought to you by River Valley Orchidworks. A World Community where orchid beginners and experts talk about orchids and share tips on their care, cultivation, and propagation.