Shop Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Weather Station Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums


The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!


  •  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"


Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.


YES! I want to register an account for free right now!


Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Need your opinion on this if you don't mind

This is a discussion on Need your opinion on this if you don't mind within the General Orchid Culture forums, part of the Orchid Culture category; ...

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
  1. #1
    TundraKev's Avatar
    TundraKev is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    971

    Default Need your opinion on this if you don't mind

    Here’s my situation………

    I have an entire floor of my house that is complexly unused. I also have the heat turned off up there, so it does get cold in the winter, but does not freeze. I would say for the majority of the winter the temps are fairly consistently in the upper 40’s to low 50’s. The coldest temp I recorded this winter was around 37 and that’s when it was about –15 outside. There also is not much of a variance between daytime and nighttime temps.

    This past winter I used this space to overwinter some non orchid stuff - things that can take or even want a winter dormancy period, but don’t necessarily lose their foliage like: agapanthus, some colocasias, a banana (probably musa basjoo – might be orinoco), a bunch of plants in the iris family that are not hardy here in MN, even some non hardy ornamental grasses. Probably most of these are grown mainly in zones 6-10.

    Everything I tried made it through the winter in good shape. So my question is what orchids might I try to overwinter in that space – in particular Dendrobiums, but would like other non-Den suggestions? Dens are probably my second favorite plant right now just behind Maxillaria. Would any do well for at least part of the winter in this space? They would have to survive with only south or east window light. If they couldn’t take the entire winter up there, I could move them into my regular growing space at some point in time.

    Any suggestions or don’t you think this would work.

    Kevin

  2. #2
    LJA's Avatar
    LJA
    LJA is offline OrchidTalk Tech Admin
    Real Name
    Louis J. Aszod
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Cattleya
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Clarksville, Arkansas
    Posts
    3,778
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    Well, you could try standard cymbidiums, which need a winter cooldown to spike, or a variety of Paphs (species like roth, sanderianum, armeniacum, or hybrids such as Prince Edward of York, Michael Koopowitz...); Miltonias and Odontoglossum should do really well, Draculas....

    There might be some species Dendrobiums that favor winter temps in that range, but I have a feeling it's going to be too cold for most of the Dend. hybrids....

  3. #3
    Karen is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    23

    Default

    What about Max sophronitis, it always grows best for me in the summer when it goes outside. This is the coolest Maxillaria I know of, but I not that good with Fahrenheit, but this is a nice plant, that does like lower temperatures than those usually offered on a windowsill.

  4. #4
    Slipperhead's Avatar
    Slipperhead is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    231

    Default

    I'm with Louis. I'd try 30 or 40 cymbidiums up there!

  5. #5
    TundraKev's Avatar
    TundraKev is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slipperhead
    I'm with Louis. I'd try 30 or 40 cymbidiums up there!
    Great idea!! Those are minis, right? Heck, I could put all of those in one window and still have tons of room.

    I was hoping to hear more about the Dend. species. I didn't think any of the hybrids would take those temps. - at least the ones I'm aware of . I guess the one problem I see is the rather consistent temps day and night. If it warmed up considerably during the day, I think I would have more options.

    Kev

  6. #6
    Gin's Avatar
    Gin
    Gin is offline Senior Member
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    All types
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    4,831
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    Oh boy ! nobile Dends . with the Cymbids . I let the porch go that low , where my Dends. are ,not the Hybrids . But if you let them chill and reduce water don't do what I did the first year they were in the cool area , I panicked and took them in the green house , They budded up but not very well ( This was in the late fall early winter , the following spring they did not bloom well just a few flowers . This year I set a small electric heater up to come on if it fell below the high 30s . I would get some of the big standard Cymbids. that have to have to cool down . Lucky You Gin

  7. #7
    TundraKev's Avatar
    TundraKev is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    971

    Default

    Gin

    I was hoping someone would suggest the nobile Dends. I have been lusting for these for a long time. Can you suggest any in particular? I guess I've never seen one I didn't like. Aren't most of these huge plants? Any that are a bit more compact?

    You win all the Peeps in my Easter Basket.

    Kev

  8. #8
    uncasteeb's Avatar
    uncasteeb is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,666

    Default

    Pity you can,t get the Aussie hybrids we get in the UK.Most are compact & are as tough as old boots.
    My Dendrobium Rutherford Starburst x June Mac spent 4 to 6 weeks in an unheated window where the temps got very close to 0c , no water or feed(it,s in s/h) & now i,ve got 5 spikes .
    Den kingianum has been in the same window for 3 months , no water at all(emptied the res before putting in the window) & that is spiking .A cane with no leaves produced a keike & has a little spike .Tough tough tough.There are literally 1000,s of D. nobile hybrids which will probably be fine in conditions
    you are looking to fill with 'kids.

  9. #9
    Sue's Avatar
    Sue
    Sue is offline Evil Genius
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    581

    Default

    Coelogyne cristata.

    Native to the Himalayan foothills, if I'm not mistaken, they need high light (southern exposure) minimal water and near freezing temps over the winter. Very very difficult for most growers, but should be easy for you.

    A very showy species. You should be able to pot in sphag, and keep outside and almost drenched all summer.

  10. #10
    LJA's Avatar
    LJA
    LJA is offline OrchidTalk Tech Admin
    Real Name
    Louis J. Aszod
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Cattleya
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Clarksville, Arkansas
    Posts
    3,778
    Member's Country Flag

    Default Space cadet here....

    Duh! I didn't even think of the nobile Dends, and I grow them!

    Good call, you guys.

    Along with the Coelogyne Sue recommended, they do need high light throughout the winter, so if you're not getting enough through your windows, you may have to supplement.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Just playing...pay no mind...
    By Heather in forum Paphiopedilum, Phragmipedium, Cypripedium IN BLOOM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 26th, 2004, 09:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
OrchidTalk --An Orchid Growers Discussion Forum brought to you by River Valley Orchidworks. A World Community where orchid beginners and experts talk about orchids and share tips on their care, cultivation, and propagation.