Shop Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Weather Station Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums


The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!


  •  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"


Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.


YES! I want to register an account for free right now!


Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Opinions Please

This is a discussion on Opinions Please within the Orchid Ailments / The Compost Pile forums, part of the Orchid Culture category; So, my baby roth had a problem w/ one of its leaves on Sunday night. ...

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
  1. #1
    Heather is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,844

    Default Opinions Please

    So, my baby roth had a problem w/ one of its leaves on Sunday night. I snipped off the worst part which had turned brown and greasy looking/feeling very quickly. Treated cut w/ cinnamon. It also smelled slightly medicinal (pre-cinnamon anyway.) The rest of the leaf has continued to yellow, and is now browning as well. Here are a couple pics, they are more yellow in the photos taken last night. Browning has continued some today. Nothing is wet or gooey, just the greasyness. Started at leaf tip and on the top side. The rest of the plant appears fine. I'm wondering if I should leave the leaf to die a natural death or get it out of there. BTW, the plant was in full sun, I think maybe too quickly since getting it and the stress of potting and sun and lack of air flow caused the problem. I have put in a second larger fan and all the other plants seem fine.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Paphraguy is offline Former User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    I wouldn't worry about it too much. It's the oldest leaf and dying naturally and from stress/sunburn/lack of air movement.

  3. #3
    Heather is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,844

    Default

    Okay, changing this around...there they are!
    Gosh darnit! That didn't work. Well you'll just have to click the link, sorry!
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  4. #4
    orchidaddict789's Avatar
    orchidaddict789 is offline Senior Member
    My Grow Area
    Windowsill
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Phalaenopsis/Cattleya species
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (MD)
    Posts
    669
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    Like mentioned above, I don't think it's much of a problem. It's only a lower leaf and would be shed soon. Just be sure that the rest of the plant is healthy with no more yellowing/blackening (as it looks right now, other than the leaf, it looks perfectly happy). Though I am no orchid expert , this is my best judgement. Good luck with it and keep us updated! Post a picture of its blooms (when it does)...wonder how their flowers look like ?

  5. #5
    LJA's Avatar
    LJA
    LJA is offline OrchidTalk Tech Admin
    Real Name
    Louis J. Aszod
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Cattleya
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Clarksville, Arkansas
    Posts
    3,778
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    Nah... Heather, the plant's fine-looking. Many times after repotting a plant will shed lower leaves in response to prepare for a new growth spurt. Nothing to be concerned about. The rest of the plant looks very happy.

  6. #6
    Heather is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,844

    Default

    oh great! thanks a lot Louis and Lilly! Not that I don't trust Peter's opinion alone but the more the merrier!!

  7. #7
    Heather is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,844

    Default Louis Saves the Day!!

    YAY! Thanks again Louis! Pics look great!

  8. #8
    Jmoney's Avatar
    Jmoney is offline Senior Member
    My Grow Area
    Windowsill
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    paphs, phrags, catts, vandas
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West Hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,978
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    A lower leaf that turns a real nasty shade of brown can either be a natural thing or an infection. Rots tend to be uneven-colored, often with watery translucent patches, and they have a distinctive smell. Just whiff long-petalled phrag species and eventually you'll smell it.

    But I have paphs, often multiflorals, that will have an entire leaf turn brown. As long as it's a lower leaf, an even shade of brown, it's nothing to worry about. Normal senescence seems to happen from the leaf tip towards the plant. Rots can start anywhere on the leaf, but the dreaded basal rot starts at the base (dah). I am compulsive about pulling the leaves off. Just be careful about it--grab the base to make sure it doesn't move too much, grab the leaf at the base, and pull down & out to get the proper angle. Be especially careful with the brachys when you pull off leaves.

  9. #9
    Heather is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,844

    Default

    Thanks Jason, it is pretty evenly brown by this point so I am thinking it is just a slow natural stress related leaf death.

  10. #10
    Jmoney's Avatar
    Jmoney is offline Senior Member
    My Grow Area
    Windowsill
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    paphs, phrags, catts, vandas
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West Hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,978
    Member's Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Heather
    Thanks Jason, it is pretty evenly brown by this point so I am thinking it is just a slow natural stress related leaf death.
    I have a Lady Isabel that drops *all* of its leaves in this manner. Normal paphs tend to yellow and then brown. But on this plant, every leaf that it drops turns rapidly into this unsightly dark brown color. It looks like rot every time.

Similar Threads

  1. Seeking 2nd Opinions on Den. growths
    By work2ski in forum General Orchid Culture
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: August 13th, 2008, 09:31 AM
  2. Opinions appreciated
    By Onecofatman in forum Eye Candy
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 21st, 2008, 02:25 AM
  3. opinions on staking spikes
    By peteMc in forum General Orchid Culture
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 15th, 2005, 04:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
OrchidTalk --An Orchid Growers Discussion Forum brought to you by River Valley Orchidworks. A World Community where orchid beginners and experts talk about orchids and share tips on their care, cultivation, and propagation.