Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cattleya Virus Question

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    My Grow Area
    Outside 24/7.
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Phalaenopsis, Cattleya, Dendro
    Member's Country Flag

Default Cattleya Virus Question

Hello. well, this is my first post and i am actually new with orchids. I got my first cattleya last may when i found it thriving and growing wildly in a driftwood at my parent's house. my mom never fertilized or pruned or even watered it. it has about a hundred or so pseudobulbs. She said she has them for almost 8 years or so.

I have a question about this plant. When it flowered from about may to October, it went into a flowering frenzy of about 15-20 spikes averaging 4-6 flowers. However, most if not all of the flowers has some kind of deformity. The top sepal is either missing, curly or has a white streak, and sometimes the 2 petals adjacent to it are streaked or curly too. some are worst than others. I am posting a couple of pictures of the flowers.

My question is, could this be caused by a virus (the leaves, especially the new are fine with no discoloration/spots; and with some black spots/bruises on the older leaves), genetic, or was just not taken cared of properly?