Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Thread: It's not always peaches and cream

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    Real Name
    Louis J. Aszod
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Cattleya
    Member's Country Flag

Default It's not always peaches and cream

So, I really appreciated all the comments you guys made on my growing in the Milt thread. I'm a professional at this point, and I wouldn't expect anything less of myself than primo plants.

HOWEVER: Providing the kind of environment that allows orchids to do their best also provides the kind of environment that allows their fungal and bacterial enemies to thrive as well. That's the constant battle, and it's one we don't always win.

We all like showing off our accomplishments, but I think it's important to remind people every once in a while that even quality growers get the same issues everyone else does. Here are a couple examples.

This first one is a Zootropheon atropurpurea that needs to be kept sopping, and that's exactly the kind of environment that fungus adores. I have cut, sprayed, cut, sprayed, and cut and sprayed this thing, and it *still* keeps developing fungal lesions that can make an orchid's foliage look like it was attacked by a biblical plague.