Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Thread: Re-potting advice needed to save inherited Paph & Phrag collection!

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size

Default Re-potting advice needed to save inherited Paph & Phrag collection!

I am pretty new to caring for paphs and phrags, but recently acquired about 12, severely neglected plants from the collection of a person who passed away recently. They are in degraded media, mostly brown roots, very dehydrated, but all are still alive..... what marvellous tough things they must be. I have ordered some paph and phrag potting medium; if I cut away dead roots and soak for ten minutes in K-L-N rooting concentrate, should I pot them up immediately into the soaked medium, or leave the roots to dry first? One care note I read, said to leave the bare root plants after soaking, to dry until a new root starts to appear, before potting up. Advice please, much appreciated!

Real Name
    Byron Aguilar
    My Grow Area
    Under Lights
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Lady Slippers and Cattleyas
    Member's Country Flag

No dont let the roots dry up before re-potting especially phrags, they hate having their roots dry. Yes re-pot them after they have been soaked in the rooting concentrate.

Real Name
    Jeffrey
    My Grow Area
    Outside 24/7
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Vanda and other local of Phils
    Member's Country Flag