Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Thread: Help! Dead Roots on Mini-Phal (and orchid Newbie)

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    Real Name
    Jess

Exclamation Help! Dead Roots on Mini-Phal (and orchid Newbie)

Help! I just tipped over my mini-phal while I was watering and noticed that almost all the roots are dead! They are gray, dry, and shriveled!

Name:  DSC09972.JPG
Views: 2356
Size:  152.7 KB

I am very new to orchids, but this plant looks extremely healthy above ground! He's even working on new leaves. I water all my orchids weekly and I allow my mini's to sit in water for a few minutes to ensure that it soaks the substrate. I fertilize with a urea-free fertilizer weekly at a rate of 1 teaspoon per gallon of water. I got them back in May and I have been researching so much so that I can take good care of them! What am I doing wrong?

Real Name
    Hank Johnson
    My Grow Area
    Under Lights
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Mostly Phals. (miniature)
    Member's Country Flag

Hi Jess, Not sure I can help but I have mostly miniature phals. and most of them are in clay pots but not all, I've had a hard time with
    timing my watering and potting mix but I definitely water more often then once a week even with pure moss, depending size of pot. I
    would water a little more often, if in doubt pull plant and check. I hope will help you Hank........

Real Name
    Cindy
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse