Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Homemade medium?

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    All of them!

Post Homemade medium?

Hi there!

First of all - I'm an orchid newbie (and new to the forum).

I have pollinated some of my orchids (last week) and I'm now waiting for the pods to mature. In the mean time I was thinking about experimenting a bit with medium and sterilization.
    I have been googling medium recipes searching for a "make it yourself" solution, since I think it would be even more fun this way compared to buying some mixed chemicals.

Anyways, I found an old recipe in Danish (I'm from Denmark) this is how it goes:

300 grams of finely grated potato (with peal)
    25 grams of honey
    5 grams of Agar
    1000 mL of distilled water

Boil the potato in half of the water for 5 mins. Dissolve the honey in the rest of the water, and pour it in to the boiling potato goo. Stir in the Agar and take it of the heat when reaching boiling point again. After this it is sterilized and treated like any other medium.

I'm wondering if this medium will have enough nutrients? And if I could ad e.g. banana or a tiny bit of orchid fertilizer to improve?

Am I insane or is there a slim chance?? I pretty much don't care if I end up with 1 or 100 plants.. For now I'm just trying it out

Real Name
    Bruce Brown
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse