Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Thread: New growth on phal - ????

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size

Default New growth on phal - ????

I have been growing phals for 2-3 years now and have never had one put out a growth through the crown area like this. It almost looks like it is starting to have little leaves on the end. Could this be some sort of keiki production???

My Grow Area
    Windowsill
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Catts and Paphs
    Member's Country Flag

Oh, dear! I am afraid you have what is often known as 'The keiki of death'. These come up through the crown, hopefully fully develop the keiki, and then the mother plant dies. I've had one do that. I was able to keep the keiki and it is doing well, though not blooming yet. Others have had plants live on successfully even with this growth.

Just let nature take it's course, that's all you can do. Post a picture in a couple of weeks.

What would happen if it were removed? Would/could the mother plant return to making normal leaves at the crown???

Yikes! I don't think so, but I'll let others opine. I think once a keiki or spike comes up through the crown the mother plant's a gonner.

Diane's right though - see what it does on its own. Definitely grow out the keiki.

McJulie

Real Name
    Murray
    My Grow Area
    Greenhouse
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Oncidiums.Odonts and alliance
    Member's Country Flag

Im with you on this one McJulie.