Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brassavola cucullata - compotting a flask...

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size

Default Brassavola cucullata - compotting a flask...

This is my first attempt at comotting plants from flask. It came from a well respected flasking service and he, as I understand is the norm, sent it already deflasked. What a stupendous service at an ASTOUNDING price. I have discovered that if you are not FAST at responding to emails you most likely will not get the flask you so crave, especially in paphs!!!.

This is how the plants are sent to you: deflasked and in an inflated twirly bag. It looks like they traveled well in this way. Certainly much better than tumbled and tossed in a large glass or plastic container. It also gives him the opportunity to reduce the cost by dividing up the spoils and on shipping.

OK all you experts, how many are in there?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Default The set up

Here are some of the things I used to accomplish the task. The colander has the sphag in it waiting to be wetted. There is a bowl of RO water and some special fertilizer I got for cuttings. I put it in the water at about 1/2 strength with the measuring spoons.

On the left is the bowl I plan on using to do the compot. At this point I am wondering if it will be big enough considering the mass of plants in the bag!