Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Flasking -101

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size

Default Flasking -101

Well, I appreciate so much all that I have learned here, and thanks to searching and all, have received so much help here (even though you have never heard of me), I thought I would share this with you all:

I have no experience what so ever with flasking orchids. Nonetheless, I thought it might be entertaining for some to watch as I start cranking out some baby orchids (knock on wood). Basically my motivation here is largely conservation driven (I have some grant ideas on Cypripedium that I am interested in), plus I really like orchids and especially their interactions with fungi. Who knows, maybe a few will get around the forum here as well.

Since I have been doing this type of thing for some time (although not with orchids evar), I have a few items at my disposal:

Autoclave
    Lab in a University with:
    Class III biosaftey cabinet
    Ph meter
    Balance
    Everything from agar to biotin
    Incidentals: everything needed to sequence fungi from the roots of just about any plant.
    Also:
    Growth chambers (limited)
    Greenhouse

Plus I ordered a bunch of orchid media on my own dime.

So, here is a teaser for now:

So why should you care?