Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Orchids not blooming

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Orchids not blooming

I've been keeping six plants alive for about three years, succeeding at that--barely--but getting only 3 or 4 spikes with blooms during that time.

The greatest success has been with one of the Brassias (it grew a spike with a half-dozen blooms last year and currently has a spike with 9 blooms and a second spike found and freed up this morning; photo is in the Intro area).

One of the Phals bloomed once in three years, though it has tried to bloom more. The closed buds have fallen off the last couple spikes without opening.

The Laeliocattleya Trick or Treat has a few unhealthy looking leaves but hasn't done anything since I bought it in full bloom.

The Oncidium Golden Trident looks even worse, with shriveling PBs and just one or two leaves.

I took all of these orchids outside a couple weeks ago after reading on here that they should do better out there now that winter is gone. They got several good rains since as well as weekly fertilizer and almost daily artificial mistings and showers. I brought the blooming Brassia inside once the blooms opened and it is still doing well. The other Brassia appears healthy but refuses to bloom.