Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Thread: Phal root problem (rot?)

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    Member's Country Flag

Default Phal root problem (rot?)

Hi guys,
    as you can see I am a newbie. I got my first orchid a few months ago from a friend but the poor plant has been kind of unlucky. First its beautiful flower stem broke and now its roots. I noticed a white fungus on some of the roots and the base of the plant was black so I decided to unpot, cut the rotten ones and repot. But when I took it out there were some white roots (are these good?) and all the others have black spots or breaks. I cut the ones with the hairy fungus and the ones you see are firm. Can it be saved? (Please say yes!) Any advice? I'll post some pictures to help your diagnosis.
    Name:  DSC_03672.jpg
Views: 723
Size:  260.0 KBName:  DSC_03682.jpg
Views: 772
Size:  241.8 KBName:  DSC_03692.jpg
Views: 589
Size:  266.9 KBName:  DSC_03702.jpg
Views: 686
Size:  252.3 KB

Thanks alot!

Real Name
    Jeff Tucker
    My Grow Area
    Porch/Patio.
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Cattleyas, Phalaenopsis, Vanda
    Member's Country Flag