Orchid Care OrchidTalk Orchid Forum Links Nursery

Welcome to OrchidTalk Orchid Forums

The Friendliest Orchid Community on the Internet!

•  » Learn to Repot your Orchids
  •  » Learn Orchid Care Tips and Secrets
  •  » Find the perfect Orchid for your Growing Environment
  •  » Chat with Orchid Growing Professionals

OrchidTalk - "Bringing People Together to Grow Orchids Better!"

Let us help you grow your Orchids better; Join our community today.

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

Register or Login now to remove this advertisement.

Thread: Genetics 101

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    Real Name
    Howard
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Anything That Will Grow
    Member's Country Flag

Question Genetics 101

While I'm new at this orchid thing, I am finding orchid genetics somewhat mind-boggling. I have some educational background for understanding this stuff, but must be brain-dead regarding orchids...is it all simple Mendelian genetics....autosomal dominant/recessive...sex linked??????? I have five (couldn't upload all) orchids I recently aquired all named Dtps Leopard Prince 'K H' x Dtps Chain Xen Pearl 'BS'. They are from, what I believe, a reputable grower in Florida. They all look "major" different! Is this given to seed crossing and just what happens, i.e., some show dominant traits while others show recessive traits? If this is the case, then I guess orchids are just like human variation...so I guess there are lots of Tom's, Dick's and Jane's out there in the orchid population. So if anyone is willing to educate me more or at least make reference to reading material....thanks... just keep it simple. Remember, I'm brain-dead!
    Attached Images Attached Images     

Seedlings can show a great variety of forms and color combinations. Plants that are cloned should all be relatively the same.

Real Name
    Fren
    My Grow Area
    Under Lights.
    Favorite Orchid(s)
    Phrags, Paphs, Catts